Scattered Light eBook

  • File type: ePub
  • Language: English
SKU: sl-e01 Categories: ,


Scattered Light offers a delightful spectrum of greed, murder and revenge: a widow’s “dead” husband suddenly returns to disturb her tranquility, a magic marble frees a bored housewife, criminals on the run discover their hideout is not so safe, two people paddle off in a canoe … but only one returns. This collection of intriguing short stories includes After Annabelle – winner of the 2010 John Kenneth Galbraith Literary Award.

Expertly crafted, often with psychological twists and turns, each story is a finely-tuned exploration of ordinary people coping with slightly off-kilter situations. People obviously fascinate Jean Rae Baxter, and she is a master at describing characters of all backgrounds, ages, and viewpoints. These compelling tales offer the reader plenty of suspense, mixed with a healthy dose of irony and more than a hint of social observation.

About the Author

Jean Rae Baxter’s debut collection of short stories, A Twist of Malice, was published by Seraphim Editions in 2005, winning considerable critical acclaim. In her stories, the conflicts, obsessions and concerns of ordinary and sometimes not so ordinary people are limned with irony and penetrating insight. She is also the author of three novels ? The Way Lies North, Looking for Cardenio and Broken Trail.